Skip to content


The aims of UKLO are:

  • To organise a Linguistics Olympiad in the UK every year.
  • To select one or more teams to represent the UK in the annual International Linguistics Olympiad.
  • To provide support for schools that participate in the UK events.
  • To raise funds to cover these activities.

The Committee

The committee members are all unpaid volunteers, and include not only academics from university linguistics departments but also some school teachers. The sponsors include professional associations, university departments, government-funded educational agencies, the British Academy, publishers and schools.

Name (* = part of the core committee)Main RoleSub-Committees (Bold*= leader)Other Roles
Alex RobsonSchools CoordinatorCompetition, Marketing and Communications, TrainingCoaching Coordinator
Anuraag VaziraniResidential CoordinatorEvents, Marketing and Communications, Test Development
Babette NewsomeTest DevelopmentTest Development
Benedict Randall Shaw -=-Test DevelopmentTest Development
Billy Clark -=-Marketing and CommunicationsMarketing and Communications
Brendan BethlehemTest DevelopmentTest Development
Daniel TitmasTest DevelopmentTest Development
Daniel TuraevTravel ManagerEvents
David HellstenTest DevelopmentTest Development
David Palfreyman -=-Test DevelopmentTest Development
Dick Hudson* -=-ChairAdvice*, Competition*, Test Development, AdminFund-Raiser (Admin)
Eleanor BorrelTest DevelopmentTest Development
Ellie Warner*Leader of EventsEvents*, Test Development, Camp logisticsMember of the IOL jury
Eva Neu -=-Camp ManagerEventsRound 2 Manager
fr. Rudolf LoewensteinTest DevelopmentTest Development
Gary Wood* -=-Leader of LogisticsLogistics*
Graeme Trousdale*-=-Vice-ChairTraining*, Events
Jack Hodkinson -=-Portal ManagerAdmin
Jim Donaldson -=-TrainingTraining
Julia Barron -=-Test DevelopmentTest Development(formerly MFL at St Paul’s Girls School)
Justin LoTreasurerAdmin
Kazune Sato -=-Marker CoordinatorCompetition, Marketing and Communications, Test Development
Laura Tomlinson -=-Chief TweeterMarketing and Communications
Lexie GrahamTest DevelopmentTest Development
Liam McKnightEvents/Test DevelopmentEvents, Test DevelopmentMember of the IOL jury
Luke Rudge -=-TrainingTraining
Marcello Giovanelli -=-AdviceAdvice
Neema Kotonya -=-Marketing and CommunicationsMarketing and Communications, AdminWeb Content Editor
Neil Sheldon* -=-Vice-ChairEventsSafeguarding and Child-Protection person (Events)
Pavel Iosad -=-Test DevelopmentTest Development
Raka ChattopadhyayTest DevelopmentTest Development
Sam CornerTest DevelopmentTest Development
Sarah O’KeefeTrainingTraining
Simi HellstenVice-Chair, Leader of Test DevelopmentTest Development*, Training
Toby CollinsTest DevelopmentTest Development, Training
Vlad NeacșuTest DevelopmentTest Development Editor
Willem Hollmann -=-AdviceAdvice