Skip to content

This year, unlike previous years, we are providing a residential camp in April for the top dozen performers in Round 2. This will provide the basis for selecting the final UK squad and for further training for International Linguistics Olympiad. The University of Warwick have kindly agreed to host the UK teams for the competition. Your camp will be located in their Radcliffe Conference Centre.  Your room is designed for two people, but you will be the only occupant. This event, like the rest of UKLO’s offerings, is entirely free to both the participants and their schools. This is possible because of generous financial support from our sponsoring organisations. Wifi will be available.

Full Itinerary: For the full itinerary, from the evening of Thursday 28 April to the afternoon of Sunday 1 May. click here


Please aim to arrive between 4.30 and 6 pm on Thursday. If you’re coming by train, alight at Coventry (NOT Warwick), and look for the reception committee. (We’ll provide more information later.)

Covid precautions

Please take a lateral-flow test before you come. If you are positive, please stay away, but let us know as soon as possible. We’ll try to arrange for you to participate remotely.

Please bring a mask to wear when circulating in public places in the conference centre.

Who’s Competing?

The camp will consist of 13 competitors and three resident tutors (listed below). The competitors will be selected on the basis of their performance in Round 2.  The camp will help in the selection of the eight members of the UK squad for the International Linguistics Olympiad. 

The following have been invited to attend the camp; those with * before their name cannot come:

  • *Albert Kwok (Haberdashers’ Aske’s Boys’ School)
  • Alex Cheesewright (Chelmsford County High School for Girls)
  • Alexander Thompson (Dr Challoner’s Grammar School)
  • Alison Craig-Greene (King Edward VI Grammar School, Essex)
  • Brendan Bethlehem (Westminster School)
  • *Daniel Morgan (Hampton School)
  • George Zhou (Westminster School)
  • Harry Scott-Burt (Uppingham School)
  • Max Fisher-Ayres (Alleyn’s School)
  • Raka Chattopadhyay (The Queen’s School)
  • Sarp Eren Hangisi (King’s College London Mathematics School)
  • Stratos Voudouris (Reading School)
  • Toby Collins (The Perse School, Cambridge)
  • *Toby Weston (King’s College School, Wimbledon)
  • William Thomson (Winchester College)
  • Yipeng Xu (City of London School

The tutors will be:

Both Neil and Graeme have served as UKLO tutors and team leaders many times before, while Simi brought home Gold or Silver medals from the IOL in 2017, 2018 and 2019. All three have full clearance for working with young people.